Home » News

Residency artists for 2017 confirmed

The selection process for the Skaftfell residency program for 2017 has now finished. Nearly 325 applications were received; a 30% increase from the year before. A selection panel reviewed all of the applications to finalise the selection for the residency positions. The Skaftfell residencies are self-directed and can be used for research and/or for the production of work. Three artists received a travel and residency grant through the Nordic Culture Point Soren Thilo (DK), Tina Helen Funder (DK) and Tuula Närhinen (FI), and one artist, Uta Pütz (DE), s staying courtesy of Goethe-Institut Dänemark,

The Skaftfell residency artists for 2017 are: Desmond Church (UK), Elín Hansdóttir (IS), Hannah Anbert (DK), Inga Danysz (PL), Jan Groos (DE) & Susanne Richter (AT), Jessica MacMillan (US), Kristie MacDonald (CA), Maiken Stene (NO), Malin Franzén (SE), Mary Hurrell (UK), Melodie Mousset (FR), Mitch Karunaratne (UK), Sandrine Schaefer (US), Soren Thilo & Tina Helen Funder (DK), Tuula Närhinen (FI), Tzu Ting Wang (TW), Uta Pütz (DE), Yen Noh (KR)

At the beginning of the year, Skaftfell hosted its first thematic residency, entitled Printing Matter. The program focused on printmaking and artist bookmaking with the aim of creating a platform for exchange, discussion, and collaboration amongst fellow artists from various disciplines. The residency was developed and guided by Danish artist and graphic designer Åse Eg Jørgensen and Litten Nyström and realised in collaboration with the Technical Museum of East Iceland, where the artists had access to working facilities and printmaking equipment

Participating artists were: Andrea deBruijn (CA), Ann Kenny (IE), J. Pascoe (US), Jordan Parks (US), Liv Strand (SE), Mark Chung (CN), Roxanne Sexauer (US), Sisse Hoffmann (DK), Sunny Chyun (KR)

Previous residency artists can be viewed here.